Movie Review: God’s Not Dead

It’s 2015 and it’s my second post! Haha. Anyway, I’ve just been recently engaged in movies and I just really want to share with everyone my review for God’s Not Dead.

To be honest, I never really knew that there’s a certain film last 2014 that dealt with Religion. I’ve just passed by a certain facebook profile (Okay, I admit I was stalking someone) and I saw it on that person’s cover photo. Deeply awed by those words, I just googled that phrase: God’s Not Dead and it lead me to this film! So, I’ve acquired a copy of that film and decided that maybe I should watch it today. (Err, well for some reasons… Pope Francis is here in PH so, I guess, I just wanted to watch something related to religion).

Anyway, the story revolved along Josh (a college student) who chose to stand up for God and defended Him against Professor Radison. All his classmates wrote in a sheet of paper, “God is Dead” except him. He angered his professor and let them to a mock trial. In which, Professor Radison is the Prosecutor, Josh as the Defender and the class as the jury. If Josh won, he’d pass the course and if he didn’t, well he’d fail. And his failure is very crucial since he wanted to enter law school. I could say that the movie has its flaws as well and I really was annoyed at some scenes.

To be honest, I am not a very good follower of God but I am a believer. However, it dawned on me that if I was in Josh’s position? Would I stand up for God as well? I really wasn’t able to answer it. Because I am fully aware that His followers don’t have it easy. And I assure you in the real life, I was really able to relate. But probably, I would seek for help too like what he did..

To be honest, I really pity Professor Radison since he blamed everything that happened to God. God didn’t want to take away his mother but He had to do it. And He’s not to blame if He said no to his prayers. I mean, He sure is powerful and all but there are somethings in life that we wouldn’t able to receive no matter how hard we pray or how hard we work. I mean, sometimes, we just have to suck it up and continue living and believing in Him. Although we may not understand His will at those moments of trials, I assure you that we would after we surpass them. And there’s even a bonus after each trial that we surpass, we become a better person.

The film was rated 17% in Rotten Tomatoes and it made me feel sad. Although, I could probably understand that there are some factors that were not good in the movie. The story line still missed something. And there are some movie parts that were quite confusing but its message is meaningful enough.

I just hoped that there was some kind of alternate ending though. I just wished that Prof. Radison was able to apologize to his ex-girlfriend before he died. 😦

Anyway, I would like to rate it 3.5 stars out of 5. :D. It’s a must watch, though

Leave a Reply

